Texas Motorcycle Safety Awards

The Texas Motorcycle Safety Coalition, in conjunction with the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) and the Texas A&M Transportation Institute Center for Transportation Safety, will present annual Texas Motorcycle Safety Awards. These competitive awards are meant to recognize, honor, and celebrate those individuals or groups who go “above and beyond” in support of the mission to increase motorcycle safety in the State of Texas. All nominations are considered for each of the following awards:

  • The Texas Motorcycle Safety Champion Award
  • The Texas Motorcycle Safety Difference Maker Award

To learn more about the awards, review the:

2022 Texas Motorcycle Champion Award WinnerKeith Rovell

This year’s Motorcycle Safety Champion has impacted an innumerable number of riders, instructors and safety providers to date and their work will continue to do so for many years. They have been actively involved in motorcycle safety for over 20 years. A motorcycle instructor in multiple curriculums and runs a highly successful motorcycle training facility. They have always been open to exploring various motorcycle safety curriculums to determine firsthand which of those offerings is most effective. Additionally, they have offered their facility to help train prospective motorcycle safety instructors to help address the serious shortfall currently existing in Texas.

Other accomplishments to help spread safety awareness include simplifying a talking point bulletin for non-riders to read to Currently, they serve as the first Chairman of the TDLR Motorcycle Safety Advisory Board (MSAB). In this capacity their leadership has driven the Board in general, and its various task groups, to look deeply into the challenges within the motorcycle safety instructor community. They have utilized much of their personal time to gather as much data and information as possible to help make accurate decisions on issues. This has driven both TDLR staff and the MSAB toward meaningful improvements in the Texas Motorcycle Safety Program. A quote from the nomination: “In all my years involved in motorcycle safety in this state, I have not met an individual more forthright and driven toward the improvement of this program.”

We present this year’s Texas Motorcycle Safety Champion Award to Keith Rovell!

2022 Texas Motorcycle Safety Difference Maker Award Winner – Joel morris

This year’s Motorcycle Safety Difference Maker is passionate and dedicated to improving motorcycle safety in the state of Texas. A life-long rider with over 45 years in the motorcycle industry, they moved into managing flailing motorcycle training programs and, in the past 3+ years, turned them into successful programs where they personally visit every class and reach out to every student. To increase the number of desperately needed new instructors, they have hosted motorcycle safety instructor training classes. They have expanded outreach through multiple social media pages, where they share videos from classes, share safety tips, and much more. As well as hosting Accident Scene Management classes for instructors and the community at large. They actively participate in Texas Motorcycle Safety Coalition meetings and recently joined the Coalition Task Force.

We present this year’s Texas Motorcycle Safety Difference Maker Award to Joel Morris!

Texas Motorcycle Safety Coalition Chair 2016-2022 – Chris Beireis

The TMSC was initiated in 2008 as a mechanism by which key multidisciplinary motorcycle safety stakeholders could meet to discuss and then conduct activities to reduce rider fatalities and serious injuries resulting from crashes involving motorcycles in Texas.

The TMSC Chair serves as the organizational leader and works with the TxDOT grant manager and TTI grantee manager to identify meeting agendas, meeting day and times, and coordination needed for the operation of the Coalition. In addition, they facilitate each Coalition meeting and annual forum.

The TMSC Charter, updated in 2020, states the Chair will serve a single term of two (2) fiscal years with the option to serve one additional term of two (2) fiscal years. Our current Chair has exceeded those expectations and served an additional 2-year term.

In grateful appreciation for years of outstanding service and devotion, we present this plaque to Chris Beireis!

Verified by MonsterInsights