Frequently Asked Questions

What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Texas?
The legal BAC limit in Texas is .08. If you’re under 21, it’s illegal for any alcohol to be in your system.
What are the conditions under which riding impaired claims the most lives?
Most alcohol-related motorcycle crashes happen at night between the hours of 12 and 3 a.m. Most are single-vehicle crashes as the impaired rider runs off the roadway and crashes into a tree or some other roadside hazard. Most involve males between the ages of 25 and 49.
What kind of gear do I need to protect myself?
The #1 thing you can do to improve your odds of avoiding a life-threatening injury is to wear a helmet. In fact, wearing a helmet is required by law in many states. Other clothing such as footwear, gloves, long pants and a brightly colored jacket can also reduce injuries in the event of a crash.
How much worse are my odds if I ride impaired?
Your chance of dying in a crash goes up 400% when your BAC is above the legal limit.
What does “riding impaired” mean?
When you’re impaired, your reaction time, senses and reflexes are all dulled by the effects of a substance in your bloodstream. Riding impaired reduces your ability to locate and evaluate hazards, make good judgments, react effectively to sudden incidents and maintain control over your motorcycle.
What constitutes “a drink”?
“A drink” is usually defined as one 12-ounce beer, one 5-ounce glass of wine, or one shot of hard liquor. In general, the body can process one drink per hour, but even after that hour you can still be impaired.
What are the consequences of being arrested or convicted of a DWI?
In general, you can lose your driver’s license, suffer public embarrassment, pay heavy fines (up to $10,000), be imprisoned (up to 10 years), gain a criminal record, and lose your own life or take the life of someone else.